Click the appropriate "Submit" button below to submit a nomination or application for a CASW prize or fellowship or propose a Science + Science Writing session for the annual ScienceWriters conference.

To submit a letter on behalf of a candidate for a prize or fellowship, please select "Letter of support."

Applicants may also submit supporting letters as part of a nomination or entry package.

Applications for Taylor/Blakeslee Graduate Fellowships will be accepted on this site between January 1 and mid-March.

Entries for the Sharon Begley Science Reporting Award may be submitted between January 1 and April 30.

Entries for the Clark/Payne Award and Victor Cohn Prize may be submitted between January 1 and June 30. 

The application period for New Horizons in Science travel fellowships opens and closes in late summer each year, the datse varying depending on the conference schedule.

For additional details on fellowships and awards, visit the CASW website.

The Council for the Advancement of Science Writing is committed to improving the quality of science news reaching the public. CASW develops and funds programs to help reporters and writers produce accurate and informative stories about developments in science, technology, medicine and the environment and to enhance the quality, diversity, and sustainability of science journalism.

Questions? Contact Sylvia Kantor,


P.O. Box 17337

Seattle, WA 98127


New Horizons fellowships are intended primarily for reporters from smaller metropolitan print and broadcast news outlets, as well as freelance and online journalists with a demonstrated interest in science writing. They are intended to enable reporters to attend the New Horizons in Science sessions produced by CASW as part of the in-person program in Memphis (October 22-24). The maximum amount of the fellowship for 2022 is $1,200. 

Expenses eligible for post-conference reimbursement include travel to the conference, registration, lodging, and meals en route. Applicants should be U.S.-based journalists.

If you do not have a Submittable account, press the "Create Account and Continue" button after entering your account information to access the online application form.

Applications are due August 30, 2022.

A complete application must include:

  • A brief (no more than 500-word) expression of interest
  • A resume
  • No more than 3 samples of your print, broadcast or online work on any topic (transcripts or links are acceptable)
  • A nominating letter from a senior editor, news director or producer

You may either submit the nominating letter with your application or ask the nominator to submit it using the "Letter of Support" form on this submission site.

Questions? Contact Sylvia Kantor,

This form may be used to upload:

  • a letter of support for a candidate for the Sharon Begley Science Reporting Award
  • a letter of support for a candidate for the Victor Cohn Prize for Excellence in Medical Science Reporting (to submit a nomination package, please use the Victor Cohn Prize form) 
  • a recommendation of an applicant for a Taylor/Blakeslee University Fellowship or Taylor/Blakeslee Project Fellowship
  • a recommendation of an applicant for a New Horizons travel fellowship

To access the form, you will need to create a Submittable account.

For further information about deadlines, requirements for recommenders and nominators, and about the prizes and fellowships, see the CASW Awards and Fellowships page or contact Sylvia Kantor,

Applicants and nominees should not use this form to submit materials.

Council for the Advancement of Science Writing